How far along? 40 weeks and official due date is today!

40 Weeks

Little girl didn’t get the memo, apparently.

Baby’s size? Baby is the size of a jackfruit! In month nine, the average fetus is about 6 to 9 pounds and measures about 19 to 22 inches (wow!). But you really won’t know exactly how big your baby is until her birth.

  • She’s continuing to grow hair and nails.
  • And she’s keeping up that lung development, too.

I asked the doctor this morning at our 40 week appointment if she was measuring big and she assured me that she did NOT look to be a large baby (yet). I am still putting on weight every week, so I know she’s growing!

Stretch marks? Nope

Sleep: Not so good this week, lots of hip numbness, tossing and turning, bathroom trips, my nose is continually stuffed, so I am mouth breathing which makes for some serious cotton mouth.

Best moment this week: Well, things have been pretty quiet around here, just anxious. It was amazing to sleep in on both Saturday and Sunday with Adam (past 9am both days!) and just hang out. We have been flying through the show “Lost” – we watch about a season a week. It’s pretty ridiculous but might as well while we have the time right?

It was also very nice to hear her strong heartbeat this morning. She is head down, good position, and healthy. That’s all I am concerned about!

Miss Anything? Not much, maybe just miss a routine. It’s weird being in this limbo stage of “is she going to come today?” or “should I go into work today?”

Movement: Definitely not as much, just slower movements in general, more purposeful. She still moves the most later in the evenings but even that is toned down significantly now.

Food cravings: Nothing exciting, sorry!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Tuesday was rough. I was not feeling great, nothing horrible, just felt “off.” I had tons of indigestion, burpy, just blah. I was hopeful it meant something but I felt much better within 24-48 hours. Food is not sitting well either and I don’t have a huge appetite.

Gender: Girl!

Labor Signs: Nothing “official” – just typical symptoms.

Symptoms: Loads of braxton hicks this week, lots of pelvic pressure, trouble sleeping, indigestion, and some random moodiness, just trying to trust God’s timing on this!

Belly Button in or out? In

Wedding rings on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy but still battling the occasional bout of sadness. I was not going to work this week and start my maternity leave but since nothing is happening yet, I still went into work. It’s hard not knowing when she will come or how to prepare for it. I have worked so far ahead to help my co-workers and company transition to my leave, so I don’t have a whole lot to do.

On the flip side, I don’t want to sit at home twiddling my thumbs. We are definitely biding our time which naturally causes a bit of anxiety. I’m just trying to remain content and grateful for more time to allow her to develop!

Looking forward to: I guess now I look forward to Monday morning, our next appointment! I plan on walking my bum off this weekend, hopefully enough pressure on my pelvis will do something!

I’ll toss up an update on the blog after our appointment but before induction.

**********

There isn’t too much more to report! I feel pretty dang good, considering. Yes, I occasionally feel nauseated or really “large” but honestly, I’m healthy, mobile, and just grateful for a healthy little girl. I even was able to paint my toenails yesterday by myself!

The doctor’s visit today left me feeling a lot more at ease than last week. We did go to a different OB within the practice and she just had a much better way about explaining our next steps. She attempted to do a membrane sweep but I am still not dilated enough for that. Typically a sweep will move things along (in most cases) but no dice today. She did say that the baby has noticeably dropped, the cervix is softer, and that hopefully by our next appointment (MONDAY!), I will have progressed a bit. If on Monday we have no progress/dilation, we will schedule the induction for next week Friday (April 26) and take it from there.

I can’t believe we’re down to the final week! I know it’s kind of always been a game of “could happen anytime now!” but now that we know for certain it’s coming within a week, I have some serious butterflies. I can’t wait to be a mom!

