How far along? 39 weeks – t-minus 7 days until D-Day!

39 Weeks

Baby’s size? She’s the size of a watermelon (holy moly). Baby keeps growing, despite being so crowded in there. She probably weighs around 6.2 to 9.2 pounds and measures about 18.9 to 20.9 inches. For the record – at my 39 week appt. I measured at 37. Long torso or small baby? We will soon find out!

  • She’s probably able to flex her limbs now.
  • Her brain is still rapidly developing — she’s getting smarter by the week!
  • Her nails may extend past her fingertips.

Stretch marks? No, super distended belly though.

Sleep: I gotta be honest here, sleep is awful unless I take Benadryl. Now before I get oodles of people saying “you’re drugging your baby!” the doctor has cleared me for all allergy medications and the Dryl totally helps me. If I don’t take it, I’m up all night, multiple times just to go to the bathroom and tossing and turning.

Best moment this week: The outpouring of love from all of my colleagues, narrators, and publishers from work. I sent out the official “I’m going on maternity leave” emails and have had gifts come, flowers were sent, and tons of lovely emails.

Deyan Flowers

Hearing her little heartbeat yesterday was nice, as usual. She’s a healthy gal!

Miss Anything? No, nothing really. Since we’re so close to the end, it seems silly to miss anything when I’ll be able to enjoy those things soon enough.

Movement: Still hiccuping like a mad woman. I truly thought we had moved past the hiccup stage but she got them 5x the other day, it was insane! She doesn’t do her frantic movements as much, more pushing hard against my belly in protest and late at night she’ll move around, getting situated. I do believe she is running out of space in there, so hopefully the end is near.

Food cravings: Chocolate chip cookies, so I made a batch 🙂

Anything making you queasy or sick: I have continued to have random nausea. I am wondering if it’s because I ordered a new prenatal when my others ran out. I wanted a more “natural” supplement and just started on that and sometimes pop them first thing in the morning before I eat. I suppose that could be it. I felt really awful this past Tuesday after dinner, lots of indigestion but have been fine ever since!

Gender: Girl!

Labor Signs: Zip. Zilch. Nada.

Symptoms: Braxton hicks every day. She hits that nerve sometimes which sends a jolt, not the most pleasant. I sometimes get a really dull pain in a specific spot in my belly (on the right side) but it fades after a few seconds.

I can honestly say my nesting phase has passed, I think that was weeks 34-36 on steroids! I don’t have heartburn, except that one time this week. I don’t have any of the real nasty symptoms like hemhrroids or swollen feet, I can still lotion my legs and paint my toes. I really am pretty lucky blessed, so I have zero complaints.

Belly Button in or out? In still.

Wedding rings on or off? On!

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy…until our doctor’s appointment yesterday. More on that below. Working on my patience, to put it simply.

Sometimes I think, “why do I want her to come so soon, we have another week!” I mean, life is seriously going to change, why rush the process. Then, there are other times where I can’t stand another minute of being so big and just want the waiting to end and get this show on the road!

Patience

Looking forward to: Well duh, labor. 🙂

I look forward to my walks every day and any progress that may bring and I DEFINITELY look forward to yet another week of enjoying married life with my husband. Gotta find that silver lining!

**********

WARNING: this may get a bit wordy!

I had a very rough morning yesterday after our 39 week appointment. Quite a few tears were shed, a lot of self-dobut, just general uneasiness. Basically, the doc thought it was my 40 week appointment and came in all “ok baby, why aren’t you coming yet!” and proceeded to tell me that I was still “closed up tight” and had “a steel cervix” then went to her calendar to look at our “options” – so I had to correct her that I wasn’t due yet until NEXT WEEK. She still proceeded to tell me these options I would have but I think she was a bit premature in that discussion.

Basically, if I’m not dilated/effaced by next Thursday, we will want to schedule another appointment at around 40.5 weeks (April 23ish) to see if there’s any progress at that point. By 40.5-41 weeks, if I’m not dilated either a) we induce labor sometime between weeks 41 and 42 (April 26-May 3) OR b) I agree on a specific date after 41 weeks to go into the OR for a planned c-section…ugh.

She made it sound like a c-section (if I’m not dilated at all) would be the smartest since induction could mean a super long and painful labor. I am in prayer about what we’ll do if we get to that point, but it still could be another 2 weeks and a lot can change by then! I think because she was thinking I was due this week, she jumped the gun a bit on the c-section vs. induction conversation, which just upset me more than anything.

So which way am I leaning right now? I know that I want to have this baby as naturally as I can, assuming both me and little girl are healthy and ok. At this point in my 39th week, I’m thinking I would rather induce after 41 weeks, have a long labor and give my body a chance to do this thing rather than just throw my hands in the air and not even try induction. I am not saying that c-section baby’s are at any disadvantage or that it would be the end of the world, it’s just how I feel. If we have a c-sec then ok, that’s what is meant to happen. But I might as well try, if we even find ourselves making that decision.

Our prayer this week is that my body gets on the same page as the baby, she drops into my pelvis and we have some dilation by next week Thursday!

