How far along? 38 weeks! Ooh, 2 weeks away from our due date!

38 Weeks

Baby’s size? She’s the size of a PUMPKIN! Baby is about 18.9 to 20.9 inches long and weighs about 6.2 to 9.2 pounds. Her head is now about the same circumference as her abdomen.

  • She may have about an inch or so of hair already.
  • She’s slowly shedding that white goo on her skin (called vernix caseosa) but you might see some of it at birth.

Stretch marks? No, nothing yet. But I also am applying lotion like a mad woman. Also, once she drops all that pressure around my belly button should dissipate and I’ll have to start worrying about my lower belly.

Sleep: You know, we had a great week last week then, this week was a little rough to start but I decided to get rid of the pillow I use between my knees and I am sleeping much sounder. I think that pillow was an added concern every time I got in and out to use the bathroom, so now I can just flop (literally) back into bed, I can drift back to sleep much quicker than before. The past 2 nights have been great!

Best moment this week: OUR GLIDER CAME! 3 weeks early!

Glider

We were resigned to it arriving April 27th after she was born. But hey, what a great surprise and it’s SUPER comfy. I am debating giving it a whirl some night to see how it sleeps.

Miss Anything? Having my body to myself.

Movement: Not as frantic of movements, but harder jabs and kicks. At night, it’s all like watching jello on a plate, my belly wiggles and wobbles so visibly. She’s a night owl!

Food cravings: Nothing actually. I still am loving milk, either with cereal or chai but I can’t say I’m craving anything specific.

Anything making you queasy or sick: I have had very sporadic moments where I feel a quick jab of nausea but then I just take down some icy cold water and it fades away.

Gender: Girl – though I laugh every time I think “what if she is a he?” eek!

Labor Signs: Before our check-up this week I would have said “YES! I am!” but I guess they are just standard symptoms of pregnancy. (See below).

Symptoms: TONS of Braxton Hicks. Holy moly, my belly gets as hard as a rock, my whole stomach seizes really tight. On Monday we were making tacos and these were happening so regularly, I actually asked Adam if we should start timing them because they were so regular! But, alas, they were not. I sat down and they started to fade away after about 10 minutes.

I am also having another symptom I won’t get into details with but apparently the baby sometimes hits a nerve down in my pelvis and can give a painful jolt through the body. It’s not the most comfortable feeling in the world.

She also is hiccuping less. By less I mean more like once a day 🙂

Belly Button in or out? In but if i push down on the sides of it, it pops out!

Wedding rings on or off? On all the way. No swelling yet!

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy, anxious. I was a little bummed this morning to find out at my 38 week appointment that I am still closed up tight, zero dilation. I gave myself a bit of a pep talk and have accepted that I will not be pregnant forever and that our little girl will come in His good timing. She’s just not ready yet, and if that means I get a little peace and quiet for another week or two, that is fine by me!

I have been feeling super irritable the past 3 days. I don’t know why, but little things are starting to really grate on my nerves like a coworker singing Enya at her desk (seriously?!), a random guy staring at my belly for longer than a split second (take a picture!) or my poor hubby doesn’t put the tupperware back the way I like it, he gets an earful (sorry babe).

Looking forward to: My hot date with Adam tonight! We know our time is limited so we’re going to get some thai, maybe some dessert and catch a movie on the Apple TV. Woo! We’re going crazy over here.

I’m also looking forward to NOT being pregnant and meeting baby girl Krueger and finally telling you all her name. FINALLY, oof, hardest secret to keep.

Oh, and also, a cocktail. Preferably a mojito. 🙂 Happy Friday!

