How far along? 34 weeks

34 Weeks

Baby’s size? She’s the size of a butternut squash! At less than two months to go, she weighs in at about 4.2 pounds to 5.8 pounds and measures about 17.2 to 18.7 inches.

  • She’s recognizing and reacting to simple songs, if you’re singing them. (If you’re not, start! She may find them soothing after birth.)
  • She’s also urinating about a pint a day.

Total Weight Gain: Tuesday’s appt. clocked in around 33 lbs.

Stretch marks? Nope, slathering up!

Sleep: Sleep? What’s that?

Best moment this week: Awesome baby class on Saturday. It completely eased quite a few of my worries about labor and I feel so much more prepared now!! Lots of progress has been made in the nursery, great lunch at my parents, and did my first load of baby clothes and crib sheets!

Miss Anything? Sleeping on my belly. BIG TIME. More than wine, can you believe it? I know it is preparing me for her arrival, but I miss it so much!

Movement: She has the hiccups still once a day, if not 2-3 times a day. Yesterday, she hiccuped at 9am, 1:30pm, & 5:30pm. Crazy kid. She also really flip flops around when I first lay down to sleep on my side. Sometimes it actually really hurts!

Funny story: She was digging into my ribs after the doctor’s appointment, so I gently massaged her down and I’m pretty sure she retaliated by punching me in the bladder. But she just ended up giving herself the hiccups, so she will learn. Don’t mess with mama!

Food cravings: Nothing too crazy, actually. I ate eggs on Sunday and they were delicious! But they MUST be scrambled and filled with cheese and bacon. HA! Still really loving my chai but not as much, just trying to keep the meals frequent but small.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope!

Gender: GIRL! (so we think)

BabyToms

Baby Toms to match her Mom’s!

Labor Signs: Nope!

Symptoms: Sciatic nerve pain on the right (which is starting to seriously hurt), lower back pain (if I’m on my feet a lot), fatigue and general exhaustion from lack of sleep, and nesting. Nesting is real!

Belly Button in or out? Innie!

Wedding rings on or off? Still on!

Happy or moody most of the time: This has been a pretty great week, mood-wise. I have been keeping myself busy with trying to remember all that needs to get done, make lists for myself, all that good stuff.

Looking forward to: The baby shower tomorrow, YAY! The anticipation has been building since Christmas for this shower and it’s been so fun helping mom with little ideas here and there but not being able to throw myself into the planning is a new treat. I can’t wait to see everyone!

**********

Well, it’s been a HUGE week of progress. Adam set up the crib and the changer dresser (thanks babe!!!). We hung the clock and ordered the bookshelf, glider, and ottoman/storage chest. The wall decals came (as well as another piece that we needed to make it taller), so those will probably go up next week.

We’ve already rearranged the room once, but I think once will be enough. I like it now, but nesting is in full swing and I know it sounds so silly, but I want everything to look perfect. Once she arrives, I just know it won’t matter as much as I am making it matter now, but it seems like such a big deal at the moment. I also did my first load of baby clothes and crib sheets. Everything is just so little!

What’s left, you may ask?

  • Install the car seat base in my car.
  • Head to IKEA for some more nursery furniture (mirror/shelves).
  • Contact the pediatrician and possibly interview them.
  • Create the labor contact list (you want on? let me know!).
  • Start gathering hospital bag items. I’d like this packed within 2 weeks.
  • Get “post delivery” recovery items.
  • Make a few freezer meals.
  • Wash the remaining clothes & start putting it all away.
  • Buy anything needed for baby we don’t get from the shower.
  • Write/Send Thank You’s.
  • Buy TONS of hand soap.
  • Finish hospital registration forms.
  • Complete our nightly readings of “Babywise” – highly recommended!

It may look like a lot and I think there are a FEW tiny items I left off but that is basically all that remains! I actually feel as if my overwhelming sense of “oh no, she is coming soon!” has dissipated and now, I’m just imagining my life with her in it.

That being said, my stress comes from another avenue of life. There has been lots of prayer and consideration as we make these decisions for our future. I can only take it a day at a time. To be totally honest, it’s a bit of a relief to live day by day, because it takes all worry and pre-planning stress away. Come what may!

Have a great weekend, can’t wait to share pics from the shower next week!

