homealone

We’re officially in the 3rd Trimester! Hot dang.

How far along? 28 weeks!

Baby’s size? The size of an eggplant. According to The Bump: “Putting on layers of fat, your baby now weighs in around 1.5 to 2.5 pounds and measures about 13.6 to 14.8 inches.”

  • She’s starting to develop more fat, so her wrinkly skin will start to get smoother.
  • Her lungs are mature enough that she’d probably survive if she was born now. Wow!

Total Weight Gain: According to the doctor’s scale, 26 lbs (see image above).

Stretch marks? No, I’ve been religious about lathering up the lotion.

Sleep: Eh. Can I just leave it at that? Sleep hasn’t been fabulous. I am having a hard time justifying $50 for a pillow that may or may not help. Yes others say this pillow is amazing, but a) I move even when I’m deep in sleep, how does this work under the sheets? b) my husband moves and he won’t be too happy to keep running into a massive preggo pillow and c) I have a dog. Do you own a dog? If you do, you would know that pillow will soon belong to her and I’ll have to ask permission to even use it.

Best moment this week: I think this was last week but we may have come to a decision on the name. More on that later. Also, got to hear her little heartbeat with my mom yesterday at the doctor’s. She is still a consistent 145-150 bpm!

28 Weeks

(post workout, couldn’t believe how big I looked!)

Miss Anything? My skinny “pre-pregnancy” clothes.

Movement: Tons and tons and tons. She is so stinking active at night. Then, sometimes I’ll be at work, and she’ll deliver this huge punch that pulls me up short. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it but I definitely love knowing she’s moving in there!

Food cravings: Cereal and sweets!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not this week. And HUGE revelation – I had some of my mom’s eggs yesterday at breakfast and they didn’t look repulsive, they tasted amazing,… I think I’ve cleared the egg aversion hurdle. WOO!

Labor Signs: None yet.

Symptoms: Loads of energy this week, increased appetite but it’s not your normal “I’m ravenous” it’s more like, “if you don’t feed me now, I’ll devour your soul” and then 2 bites later, I’m stuffed. Also, disrupted sleep and a growing belly!

Belly Button in or out? Innie!

Wedding rings on or off? Still on and room to grow, I don’t think I’ll have to worry about this.

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy as a clam (see next question)

Looking forward to: Leaving for Florida TODAY for a WEEK!

Screen shot 2013-01-25 at 8.47.05 AM

This is our weekly forecast. We arrive tonight around 7pm and Emily & Stephen come in around 10:30/11pm. LOOK AT TOMORROW, 79 and sunny. Oh my gosh and it definitely helps that we got another inch or so of snow overnight, I can’t wait to wave goodbye to this frozen tundra for a week.

Truth time: I cried last night whilst holding and petting my dog. I am going to miss her! Then, I had this terrifying realization that if I love my dog this much (and yes, we are sort of obsessed with her), just imagine the first time I’ll have to leave our little one. I can’t even think about it.

Anyway, we’re off to Florida this afternoon and hopefully I’ll have a blog post of pictures up later in the week as an update. Can’t wait for fun in the sun with some amazing friends and total relaxation for a FULL WEEK!

