Last week in the 2nd trimester is here and whoa, did it go by fast!

How far along? 27 weeks – picture of the bump next week, promise.

Baby’s size? Rutabaga! (posting a picture for those of us who have never seen this vegetable, like me)

TheBump_Wk27

At 13.6 to 14.8 inches and 1.5 to 2.5 pounds, she’s not just getting bigger, she’s getting smarter.

  • She’s practicing inhaling and exhaling with her rapidly developing lungs.
  • It’s official: Baby’s showing brain activity! And her brain will keep on getting more complex.

Total weight gain/loss: About 24 lbs

Sleep: I think it’s time to invest in this. I wouldn’t say sleep is bad, it’s just very disruptive. Last night I decided to put a pillow in between my legs which didn’t help but didn’t hinder sleep, just made me more hot as I slept. Also, I keep waking up on my back! Typical pregnancy fear, but my doctor told me do NOT sleep on your back because it can cut off blood flow to the baby. Well, apparently if you really are depriving your baby you’ll wake up with in “fight or flight” mode. Good to know, because I keep waking up on my back, dang it.

Best moment this week: Hmm, nothing too spectacular. Sad, I know. I guess I’m proud of myself and my “activity level” this week. I have lifted weights twice already and gone on 2 long walks in the morning. I plan on taking another walk tonight before the cold settles into Chicago and hopefully some yoga on Sunday.

Miss Anything? Nope! I missed veggies actually and made sure to make some Thursday night after having Cocoa Wheats 2 nights in a row for dinner :). Oops.

Movement: Oodles and officially can see her moving without feeling her. Solid thumps make my growing belly jiggle which actually makes me laugh. She does roundhouse kicks up in there and it startles me sometimes. But I love holding the iPad up to my belly as I’m reading to see the movement. She is, without a doubt, a night owl like her parents. Most movement is in between 8pm-11pm.

Food cravings: Shocker, SWEETS!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope!

Gender: Lady

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: Bigger belly than last week, hard to sleep, she is on my bladder so I’m peeing way more, and (TMI) more gas than normal. Sorry, it has to be said, but sometimes those kicks result in some gas bubbles!

Belly Button in or out? Still an innie!

Wedding rings on or off? On all the way.

Happy or moody most of the time: Moody this week. Don’t even get me started.

Looking forward to: To avoid going all “debbie downer” on you, not much. I am very excited to get my hair done tonight since I haven’t been since the beginning of August. Yes, almost 6 months ago. My grandparents and parents are coming over tomorrow for a little crown moulding party. Beyond that, I just am ready to be done with this nursery so I can move on with my life! 🙂 I also am SUPER,….SUPER excited for Florida.

T-Minus 1 Week!!!!!

