I got a notice on one of my baby countdowns today: 93 days left. Since when did we leave the triple digits? I could be having this little one in three months, you guys.

THREE. MONTHS. Deep breath.

We all knew this day would come. It’s just such a smack in the face when you aren’t expecting time to fly. Truly, everyone told me that pregnancy takes forever and while I agree in a sense, because I’m so anxious to meet her, I would say 12 weeks felt like less than a month ago!

Anyway, here we go into the fun stuff!

 

How far along? 26 weeks

26 Weeks

Baby’s size? A head of lettuce! She’s still growing in the 13.6- to 14.8-inch and 1.5- to 2.5-pound range, and developing her senses, features and talents!

  • Her eyes are forming, and his eyes will soon start to open.
  • And her eyelashes are now grown, too.
  • She’s getting her immune system ready for life on the outside by soaking up your antibodies.
  • She’s taking breaths, too. They’re of amniotic fluid, not air, but it’s still good practice.

Total weight gain/loss: Last checked, 23-24 lbs. I am avoiding the scale!

Sleep: Increasingly worse. I think I might have to break down and get a preggo pillow. Or stop drinking tea right before bed. Either way, it hasn’t been pretty and Adam said himself he isn’t sleeping too well either. I hope my tossing and turning isn’t affecting him, too!

Best moment this week: The week in general flew by, which was a nice surprise. Had an awesome girls dinner Tuesday, we bought crown moulding for the baby’s nursery last night and will start painting tonight!

Nutella Calzone

[Nutella banana stuffed calzone from Tuesday’s dinner. Oh my word]

Miss Anything? Nothing crazy this week, maybe a good night’s rest.

Movement: A definitive YES. She actually took me by surprise the other night, felt like she did a complete 180. Though I know that’s probably not totally true, she moved so suddenly and with so much force, I actually gasped. Tons of kicks and punches throughout the day, too.

Food cravings: The sweet tooth is here to stay. I made these muffins last night. The banana muffin/chocolate chip ratio is practically 50/50 and they are so yummy!

Banana Chocolate Muffins

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope!

Gender: Girl 🙂

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: Definitely a growing belly and the occasional sore back. I feel like I’m getting away with something here! I haven’t had swelling or headaches or nausea. Maybe the occasional pregnancy brain but for the most part, I just feel good! Oh, I think I had a Braxton Hick’s contraction the other day, but it was super sharp and faded really fast. No clue, could have been joint ligament paint but it was something.

Belly Button in or out? Still an innie!

Wedding rings on or off? On all the way.

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy! I feel so blessed.

Looking forward to: Painting the crown moulding and getting it installed NEXT WEEKEND! I also am just really anxious to get all the painting done and the closet shelves in so we can focus on the more fun stuff, like getting the crib and decorating and readying her room for her. I mean we have t-minus 3 months, we gotta get shaking! I also am getting super pumped for our trip to Florida in 2 weeks!

 

At the start of this week, I gave myself a talking. I have decent amounts of energy, especially compared to the first 3 months, but I haven’t hit the gym in a while. I think the biggest hurdle for me (currently) is vain one. I hate that I look “in between.” The bump is growing and noticeable sometimes, but not so much that you would say “oh, she’s pregnant!” I’m super self-conscious hitting up the gym and just feeling big. Vain, right? So, I decided that while I’m still pre-big belly, I’m going to just have to suck it up and walk outside in the cold.

Sunrise Walk

Monday I did a really great weights routine that is “light” but effective. I was sore up until yesterday (Thursday)! And it only takes about 20 minutes to complete, so even when energy is draining, I can fit this in. Tuesday I went for a beautiful 2 mile walk before work. See that sunrise? It was a bit chilly, I will admit, but stunning. Wednesday I fit in 2.25 miles walking while helping Adam with a track workout and it was WINDY. Yesterday was a day off due to bad sleep and crown moulding stuff but tonight, I plan on another 2 miles in this 50+ degree weather. UNREAL!

I gotta say, I feel pretty good! I definitely let the weight gain get to me last week but after a day of self-loathing, I realized that others in this world have it much worse than me. My symptoms are next to none, the baby is healthy and active in my belly and if it means that I put on more weight than I am hoping (the goal was 40lbs or less), I will just have to promise myself to work it off once she comes into this world.

Hope you have a great weekend and if the weather is anything like it is here in Chicago, enjoy the mild temps before winter sets in! 🙂

 

