Another short work week, I’m getting spoiled!

I should apologize in advance for a total lack of pictures in this post. I’ve been a bit under the weather since getting my flu shot yesterday and definitely am in my stretchy Lulu’s and a hoodie (yes I’m in the office!) and not feeling a bump update (again). Can you tell I’ve been down a bit lately? Why must the holidays end?

How far along? 25 weeks

Baby’s size? The size of a cauliflower! She measures about 13.6 to 14.8 inches long and weighs about 1.5 to 2.5 pounds.

  • She’s enjoying her new sense of equilibrium — she now knows which way is up and which is down.
  • She’s growing more fat and more hair too!

Total weight gain/loss: More on this, close to 21-22 lbs.

Sleep: Yeah about that. I miss sleeping on my belly big time this week. Heard that sleeping on my back can be hard on the baby as I progress and get bigger, so sleeping on my side is hopefully happening but last night I woke up in a panic and realized it was because I was on my back. Ugh!

Best moment this week: We got to hear BK’s heartbeat again (150 bpm) and talk to the doc about a few things. Also, are attempting to sign up for a labor/delivery class that includes a tour of the hospital. Hopefully we get that settled soon.

Miss Anything? Tummy sleeping and champagne on New Years.

Movement: So much movement. Yesterday the OB told me to start tracking it to make sure I feel her every day. Yesterday I counted over 20 times of active periods. We might have a rowdy ones on our hands!

Food cravings: I was really craving my mom’s skinny pancakes last night. I attempted to make them and failed a little bit but the flavor was there. Also, shout out to cocoa wheats! I will be making a bowl tonight, love that stuff.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Other than a quick 24-36 hour flu New Years Day and the flu shot, nope.

Gender: Little lady!

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: Super hungry in the morning and very munchy at night.

Belly Button in or out? Definitely still in.

Wedding rings on or off? On. A note about this: since my weight loss my rings have gotten looser and looser on my hands. I am hoping even with a little swelling I’ll be able to keep these on the whole pregnancy!

Happy or moody most of the time: Down in the dumps this week. 😦

Looking forward to: Um…maybe this is the problem? I am looking forward to progressing on some things in the baby’s room. Putting up crown moulding with my mom’s help. Painting the bathroom, getting the big furniture in there, etc…

Weight Gain: Can I preface this with “Yes, I know I am supposed to gain weight being pregnant, thank you very much.” BUT, I do not have to like it. Back when I first was pregnant, maybe 8 weeks along, a woman in my small group said “just wait until you start gaining lots of weight, then come talk to me, I’ll help you through it.” At the time, I sort of scoffed at it, I mean HELLO, I’m growing a kid, of course I’m going to gain weight. But goodness, this second trimester it’s coming on fast. I think part of it is before pregnancy I was super conscious about my eating habits and now that I’m craving sweet, I give into the cravings more frequently than not.

That being said, I had some down time with the holidays and thought about how I want to provide a good, safe environment for my little girl in there but how the heck do I do that when all good-for-you foods taste so disgusting to me? Do I just choke them down? I suppose. Anyway, 22 lbs heavier, I’m seeing numbers on the scale I haven’t seen in over 2 years and it’s giving me some anxiety. I know, I KNOW, but 22 lbs in 25 weeks in is bringing me down.

Action Plan: cut back on the sweets, pound water/tea like it’s my job, eat at least one veggie and one fruit a day. I can do the fruit no problem, in fact I eat 2-3 servings of fruit a day, but the veggies are definitely lacking. I can do this!

Flowers 

Those are the beautiful flowers my husband brought home for me last night when he sensed that I might need a pick-me-up. I didn’t even tell him how blue I was! What a thoughtful guy and they did brighten my day. I also got the flu shot yesterday due to the flu spreading like wildfire these days. The shot made me feel really crappy yesterday and I think I still have some residual effects of aches and tiredness this morning.

Let’s end on a high note shall we? I think I am drawing to a conclusion on what I will do once our little BK comes into this world with work. I am feeling more and more confident that God is in the details here and I am just so anxious now for April to come!

Have a lovely weekend! I promise a more upbeat post next time 🙂

