Holy cow, 6 months? Where did the time go? Something I used to say/complain about before I lost weight was something like, “I’m so sick of looking 6 months pregnant!” The sweet irony of it is I weigh less now at 6 months pregnant than I did AFTER losing 40 pounds a few years back. Wrap your mind around that! In fact, if I keep my weight gain manageable this pregnancy, I won’t even get close to my heaviest weight. I digress.

Let’s get this show on the road, shall we?

How far along? 24 weeks

Baby’s size? Cantaloupe – goodness! 10.5-11.8 inches in length and weighs about 12.7-20.8 ounces and every week she gets closer and closer to being ready to survive (and thrive!) in the outside world.

Total weight gain/loss: We hit the big ol’ 20 lbs this week. I wanted to cry then I smacked myself, I’m pregnant, duh! And I haven’t exactly restrained myself with the holiday cookies. 🙂

Linea Negra/Stretch Marks/Other: I don’t know if I’ll get the dark line on my belly but this entire pregnancy has been super awful on my skin. I don’t normally break out a whole lot, just random here and there but this little girl is DESTROYING my complexion.

Sleep: Super solid sleep this week, thank goodness!

Best moment this week: Christmas with family! Short work week! Tea today with family! Heading downtown tomorrow!

Miss Anything? Alcohol is a big with the holidays. Sigh.

Movement: Earlier this week she wasn’t moving AS much, just her signature time at 10:30pm. The last 2 days she has been practicing her tap routine again at really random times. She is getting lots of punches and kicks in.

Food cravings: Not really, if I eat poorly during the day I crave fruit at the end of the day. And tea before bed is a new must-have for me.

Anything making you queasy or sick: No just tired of this sore throat.

Gender: Girl!

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: A growing belly, increased appetite, peeing more every day, better moods (praise the Lord), bit of insecurity and anxiety (see below).

Belly Button in or out? In.

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy! It’s the holiday season!

Looking forward to: I am super excited for our girl tea today with Mom and Kari and tomorrow we are heading downtown to celebrate Christmas a bit more with my brother and his family. Then, I am REALLY looking forward to being off of work until next Wednesday. Things are so dead around the office, it’s hard to fill the time so I’ll be happy when we get back into the groove of things.

We are really excited about our next doctor appointment next Thursday and we get to hear her heart beat again. I think I will be doing (or at least scheduling) my glucose test to see if I’m at risk for gestational diabetes. I’ve heard that test is a real blast. 🙂 Other than that, this pregnancy, especially 2nd trimester, has been incredibly fulfilling for me. I keep reading things about mom’s experiencing back aches, swollen ankles/legs/hands, lots of headaches and nausea or just plain exhaustion and while I definitely experience the latter, I can say that the rest has evaded me (praise the Lord). I have been blessed beyond belief with a routine, “boring” pregnancy.

24 Weeks

I will admit, I had my first mini-anxiety attack last night. In fact, I haven’t even shared this with my husband, but as we lay in bed falling asleep and BK was doing her acrobatics I started thinking about the fact that she will eventually have to come outta there (duh) and I could feel my heart rate pick up and I don’t know why, but I started to panic. Not only do we have so much to do over the next 3 months (nursery, closet organization, painting, showers, hospital tours, pediatricians, birth plans, etc…) I know that in the end, it’s going to be me and her in a very vicious battle to bring her into the world. I prayed the Lord would just give me strength and calm in the midst of it all. After that, I passed out so I think he answered my most immediate need but in the light of day, it’s still a worry for sure. Thankfully, not a full blown anxiety attack anymore 🙂
On that note, hope you all had a fabulous Christmas and have something fun planned for New Years or if it is your cup of tea (like me), a nice low key evening spent in the house lounging by the fire with a (virgin) cocktail and pj’s. I haven’t spent a NYE at home in a long time and am really looking forward to it this year. Love to you all!
