Something I have been putting off is a post about me!

Leslie

I had enough of my nasty roots so I colored my hair with a box!

At this point, we all know how Addison is faring at 5 weeks of age but a few of you have asked, “how the heck are you holding up?” Instead of giving you a huge breakdown of weekly struggles like I have for Addison’s update, I’ll break this down by subjects:

Sleep

I have to be completely honest here and say it could be way worse. The first night = torture. Once we figured out that she was just hungry at night, I started to increase her fluid ounces late at night and fed her every 2-3 hours the first month consistently and started to notice I was waking her. Well, this mama loves her sleep. I found myself hitting the snooze button occasionally at 2am just to see if she would make it to 3am and sure enough, she would.

I can also admit with no regrets that I have slept through a few alarms only to wake up to Adam shaking me asking me when the last feeding was. Oops! Those are when we experienced 5-6 hour stretches. But again, she wasn’t awake so she couldn’t have been that hungry.

Now that she is almost 6 weeks old and is gaining weight (again, PRAISE.THE.LORD) we can let her sleep a bit more at night. Last night we went from her dream feed at 11:30-6am. Wahoo!

Daily Routines

This has been my biggest adjustment. I went straight from high school, to college to graduating early and straight into a full time job for over 5 years. After having Addison, it’s been spending all my days at home with no agenda and just adjusting to our new life. Now that we have a bit more of a predictable schedule, it’s giving me glimpses of what I can actually accomplish in a days time. I gotta be honest, I thought I’d have a lot more time to get things done but when you have an hour here and an hour there (at most), you can’t get a whole lot done which makes me feel pretty worthless.

I set little goals for myself every day. For example, today I will empty the dishwasher, prepare a nice dinner, make the bed, start the laundry, and go for a long walk. If I can get all of that done, hey, that’s a dang good day in my book! Some days it’s simply to survive.

Today I have my 6-week post-partum check up so we’ll see soon if I can start adding in exercise to my routine. I have a feeling this will greatly change my “stir crazy” feelings as well. It always helps to sweat it out! And that leads up to the next thing…

Physically

About a week after having AJ, I was down 20lbs (I gained about 45lbs total in my pregnancy). Along came breastfeeding and let me tell you something…you may think you’re hungry when you’re pregnant but breastfeeding puts  hunger on a whole new level. If I don’t eat every few hours, I feel ILL. And keeping healthy options around the house is key because when you are that hungry, you just don’t even care if it’s a bag of chips or apples.

That being said, 6 weeks later I have put back on another 5-8lbs of the weight I had originally lost from childbirth. I originally thought I was a rare bird for putting on weight but have heard from quite a few other moms that say “nope, I gained too!” That breastfeeding hunger must be the culprit. So at this point, I have about 20-25lbs that I need to lose.

Leslie1

5 1/2 weeks postpartum. I’ve got some work to do! :(

As far as my labor recovery, week one was hell on earth, week two was not awful but not awesome. Then finally, I was pretty much back to “normal” after 3 weeks. I was prepared to need a full 6 weeks for recovery and was very pleasantly surprised to hit 3 weeks feeling healed and ready to go. It felt good to be there quicker than anticipated. But it sure didn’t help with that stir crazy feeling because I just wanted to move and knew I should wait for the doctor’s go-ahead.

My Marriage

After the initial exhaustion started to ebb and feel a bit more like normal, Adam and I started working hard at making this a team effort. If I have an awful day, Adam is amazing at taking Addison for the night so I can have a break and not want to curl into a ball and cry myself to sleep. And vice versa! Sometimes AJ just fusses for no reason around 6pm-9pm and there is not much to ease her cries except feeding, so I’ll take her from Adam to give him a break.

At 6 weeks, we are both pretty desperate for a date night out, just the two of us. I think we can make this happen soon but we need some us time with ZERO baby cries. We NEED this just to have time to get back to us. It’s so easy to get lost in parenthood and put all your focus in the new little baby and neglect one another.

Who wants to babysit??? :)

Other

  • I can’t wait to start going to church this Sunday!
  • I am also anxious to start running again. Wait, did I say that already? :)
  • Addison and I need to find other moms and babies locally so she can make some friends (and me too!). It will give us something to do and somewhere to go during the week, too!
  • We’ve been “winging it” lately and now that Addison has more of a schedule, I think we need to start implementing a weekly schedule like “Mondays = grocery shopping. Tuesdays = library trip. Wednesdays = Visit Oma, etc…” Seems a bit anal, I know, but it will be good for my mentality to have a plan in place.

That’s all I got, have a great Wednesday!

Happy National Running Day!!

FitnessPlan

